Rimfire World Community
Visit Brownells Visit AR15 Builder Visit Visit Site Visit Ballistic Advantage Visit Aero Precision Visit Cabelas

hop up questions from a noob

Noximus03

Just a couple of questions before I get hot and heavy with my 15-22.

1-If I wanted to put a flash hider, or a fake can on it do I need to file ATF paperwork for that? also, what if I wanted to shorten the barrel length a tad?

2- Can anyone point me in the right direction for upgrading the trigger (its a longer pull than I would like to have)

3- do you guys have any tips/tricks to make the gun run smoother/faster?

I plan to run rim fire tactical matches with it which is why I'm asking the above questions, (I'm not one of those guys that wants to turn it in a full auto machine gun at the range) and I'm fairly new to the tactical/ar/rifle world. I'm a hand gun guy. My thoughts about it is if I'm going to go down this road with my 15-22, I want to have as much fun as possible, but I also want to do things right the first time. All comments are welcomed, as well as any insight. Thanks for looking.

First off, there are two things you need to consider. Federal Law, and State Law. Federal law doesnt prevent you from attaching a muzzle brake or fake can to your .22 provided that it in NO way reduces sound levels (like a suppressor will). If you are interested in doing this, I highly recommend purchasing a fake suppressor from a suppressor vendor such as Gemtech. The gemtech fake suppressors are already BATFE certified as legal to the masses with out any paperwork necessary. Making one yourself could be misconstrued as "manufacturing"...and dives into a whole other realm of legality.

Bear in mind that you need to check state/county laws as well. Some state laws might prohibit this depending on what state you live in.

Also, some states have individual county laws in place regarding these things.