Rimfire World Community
Visit Brownells Visit AR15 Builder Visit Visit Site Visit Ballistic Advantage Visit Aero Precision Visit Cabelas

Looking for suggestions on a 22LR target rifle...

9mil

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to firearms (within the last year) and while I have been very happy shooting semi-automatic handguns with my father-in-law for the last few months, he has been bringing more than a few rifles out to the range with us the last few times. Having no interest in it before, I found that I took to it very quickly and was pretty good with a rifle right off the bat. I think he's been trying to get me into them, actually. I even had the pleasure of shooting his original war-issued 1942 M2 Carbine at 100 yards. What a thrill.

One thing that I have forever been interested is long-distance shooting--like over 100-200 yards, at least, The 600 yard area at the range is calling me like a moth to black-light. Someday--but for now, I'd like to shoot the same distances that he is shooting--and that's 100-200 yards.

So with that in mind, I'd really like to find a 22LR tactical or sniper-style rifle that will allow target shooting at those distances. I'm not interested (yet) in custom-building a Ruger 10/22 from scratch, either. I'm just not there with my experience level yet. It'll happen, just not right now.

Can you guys recommend something that is good for target/long distances, and will be fairly ready to go off the shelf? I have seen rifles with bipods, scopes, suppressors in both bolt action and semi-automatic, and thought, "yeah, that's what I want to shoot." He's a hunter, and that's not for me, so he's not the best person to ask about something more target/tactical-oriented.

Any help you can provide to steer me in the right direction would be most helpful. Thanks!

:beer:

This is something I would love to own...

post-1745-144124388908_thumb.jpg

I own two dedicated 22lr target rifles. A Izhmash CM-2 and a Winchester 75 Target.