Rimfire World Community
Visit Brownells Visit AR15 Builder Visit Visit Site Visit Ballistic Advantage Visit Aero Precision Visit Cabelas

n00b from Amarillo, TX

Sir_Macalot

Hey guys, first post from me.  I'm totally new to guns.  I bought my first handgun 9 years ago when I honestly feared for my life.  It was a 9mm Beretta 92fs.  I still haven't ever fired it. 

The reason I joined this forum is because I honestly need some advice when it comes to selecting a .22 rifle.  I have no idea what I'm doing.  Can you guys recommend a thread or is this one okay?

Thanks, and I'm excited to be here!

Welcome Sir M.

What do you plan to use this rifle for?

well, i want to become proficient with a rifle and wanted something that didn't kick too hard.  I'm also taking a page out of Max Brook's book "The Zombie Survival Guide". He recommended a .22 for it's lightweight, cheap and readily available ammo, and it's quieter. 

I've heard I'm supposed to make sure it's "centerfire"? Does the gun determine that or is that more about ammo?  What is the most reliable .22 semi-auto, tactical rifle out there in your opinion?

I've heard I'm supposed to make sure it's "centerfire"? Does the gun determine that or is that more about ammo?  What is the most reliable .22 semi-auto' date=' tactical rifle out there in your opinion?      [/quote']

The 22lr cartridge is a rimfire and many "tactical rifles" are chambered for it. The centerfire 22s commonly used in AR-15s and such are .223 Rem / 5.56x45mm.

Huge difference.

I've owned a bunch of tactical 22s and my favorite so far is the CMMG that imschur turned me onto. Competitively priced and superior in quality to most.

I'm partial to reflex sights on tactical style rifles for their fast pointing capabilities.

Welcome fellow Texan!

There are many great tactical rimfires out there, each and every one will come with personal opinions.  So, here's mine.  :)

In the "tactical" realm, I highly recommend you look at the SigSauer 522.