Rimfire World Community
Visit Brownells Visit AR15 Builder Visit Visit Site Visit Ballistic Advantage Visit Aero Precision Visit Cabelas

Muzzle Brakes and ect for .22?

Mr. Jones

I was reading TM's thread about his Mas49-56 (a beautiful rifle, btw), and started thinking about muzzle brakes and compensators, etc.

First, does it really make that much difference, is their enough gas pressure in a .22 to matter?

I've never fired a .22 that had enough recoil or climb to make me think it needed compensation, but I am still fairly new to this concept, so I dunno.

My 522 came with an A2 flash hider that appears to be purely cosmetic, as the amount of kick and climb is about the same as it is on all my .22s

Guess it depends on what I am doing with the rifle; I just use it for plinking and varmint disposal, so maybe not so useful for me.  I imagine for competition level shooting, every thing counts for something.

I have not added a brake to anything except the MAS. And that one works G8. I do know that my Colt/Umarex M4 does have some jump when fired from the bench with a bi-pod. It would be nice to "watch the hit" and stay on target. I have just ordered one of the "compensators" from Colt that ellie_18 has on his M4. I will have to think about doing a "magneport" job on it......

TM

I can say this much, my 3 bolt action .22s don't kick at all, like shooting BB guns.

but the 522 almost bounces on her bypod and I do feel her a tiny bit in my shoulder.  I suppose the blowback action coupled with a heavier bolt group than I am accustomed to.  Not to mention she outweighs a bolt action by 4 pounds  :o

Still, i just don't see a brake adding any/much benefit;  just not enough "oomph" in the round to make it function as intended.